Pennsylvania, like most states, has classified a large number of crimes as “sexual offenses.” This type of offense often comes not only with serious penalties imposed by the court upon conviction but also with a stigma among family, friends, and community. These include, but are not limited to, the following:
Several sexual offenses do not require the use of any force or intimidation. One of the most recent additions to that list is “sexting”—which only requires that a person send or receive a sexually explicit photo of someone under the age of 18.
Although the penalties vary greatly for the various crimes that have been classified as sexual offenses in Pennsylvania, one thing is true for all of them: a conviction—or a guilty plea—has lifelong consequences. This is because all of these crimes carry a social stigma that is different than almost any other crime—and because many of them require registration on the state’s sex offender registry (Note: failing to register—or failing to update where you are living—can result in additional criminal charges).
Most sexual offenses in Pennsylvania have been classified as felonies, which generally means that a conviction or plea deal will involve a lengthy prison sentence. Furthermore, some of these offenses are considered to be Felony 1 crimes, which is the most serious felony level in Pennsylvania and can result in life sentences.
Under the original version of Pennsylvania’s Megan’s Law, offenders had to register—and report—for either 10 years or life. Those requirements, however, were expanded to 15 years, 25 years, or life by the 2012 enactment of the Sex Offender and Notification Act.
If you or a member of your family has been charged with a sexual offense—or you are concerned that you or a member of your family might be charged with one—call the Skinner Law Firm today at 610-436-1410 for a free consultation or send us an email through our online contact form. The earlier we get involved, the more we can help.
It’s only human to make mistakes, but when poor judgment leads to a drunk driving charge, the consequences of a DUI conviction in Chester County can be severe. Not only do you face fines, points on your driving record, and criminal charges, but you’re also looking at a potential suspension of your driving privileges. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) is the agency charged with handling driver’s license suspensions, but the actual procedure for getting your license back after a DUI depends on the nature of the charges. It’s wise to retain a DUI license suspension hearing attorney to assist with your case, but some general information is helpful.
Your driving privileges may be suspended depending on how much alcohol is in your system based upon the results of a chemical test for your blood alcohol concentration (BAC); if you don’t take the test, you can also be penalized with a driver’s license suspension.
In general, you’ll need to satisfy the suspension requirements before you can request that it be reinstated by PennDOT. The best way to figure out exactly what you need to do is to obtain a restoration requirement letter, which will likely instruct you to:
You may be tempted to take on your own representation when facing drunk driving charges in Pennsylvania, but there are risks to handling this type of case yourself if you don’t have a legal background. The laws and rules are quite strict, and even a slight mistake can lead to problems with reinstating your driver’s license. An experienced DUI lawyer knows the intricate details of the law and can help you navigate the complicated process. If you have questions about your options, please contact the West Chester, PA offices of the Skinner Law Firm. Our license suspension attorneys will represent your interests and fight for your rights to ensure the best possible outcome.