The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation estimates that more than one out of four traffic crashes in 2017 involved alcohol. With more than 10,000 alcohol-related crashes and almost 300 fatalities each year, law enforcement in Pennsylvania continues to make arrests for driving under the influence (DUI) to keep impaired drivers off of the roads. Downington itself issued four driving under the influence citations in one recent year.
If you are charged with a DUI, you face harsh penalties if you are convicted, especially if you are a repeat offender.
If you were arrested and charged with a DUI in Downington, Pennsylvania, or other areas in Chester County, you need to contact a skilled DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. In addition to court-mandated penalties such as fines and jail time, a DUI might devastate your personal and professional life. Whether you are still in jail or were recently released, let a DUI defense attorney advocate for your rights and work to decrease your penalties or get your case dismissed. Contact the Skinner Law Firm at (610) 436-1410 for a free consultation to discuss the details of your arrest.
Pennsylvania law divides DUIs, which are misdemeanors, into three levels based on blood alcohol content (BAC):
Penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania vary on level as well as a driver’s history of driving under the influence. Drivers who are convicted of multiple DUIs might face five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. The minimum penalties for a first time offender at each level of DUI are:
A first general impairment DUI conviction is an ungraded misdemeanor that might result in six months of probation and a $300 fine. The court requires alcohol safety school and may order a substance abuse treatment program in severe cases.
Without any prior DUI convictions, a High BAC DUI conviction is also an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory 48 hours in jail, $500 fine, one year driver’s’ license suspension, and mandatory attendance at alcohol highway safety school. The court has discretion to sentence those convicted of a High BAC DUI to six months in prison and to increase the fine to $5,000.
First offenders charged with the highest level DUI, also an ungraded misdemeanor, face the same penalties as High BAC DUI offenders, but the minimum mandatory jail time is 72 hours and the minimum fine is $1,000.
If you are charged with a DUI in Downington or you are seeking a DUI defense attorney for a friend or family member in Downington, contact the skilled legal team at Skinner Law at (610) 436-1410 for a free case review. Learn about your best path forward and how we can help you fight your DUI charge. Investing in your future by hiring a qualified attorney may help you preserve your reputation, relationships, and your job.