Home    ›    West Chester    ›    Drunk Driving / DUI    ›    Third or Subsequent DUI

Third or Subsequent DUI Charges

If you have been charged with three or more driving under the influence offenses in Pennsylvania, you may be subjected to some of the harshest penalties if convicted. In addition to hefty fines, you will be sentenced to prison at a state facility, not a local jail. You will also face a suspension of your driving privileges and installation of an interlock device on your car. Your best defense to a third or subsequent DUI charge is to hire an experienced attorney.

West Chester Third Offense DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with a repeat DUI in Chester County or Delaware County, it is imperative to contact an experienced attorney in order to try to avoid the most severe consequences and penalties for your alleged offense. Michael J. Skinner will aggressively fight for each of his clients charged with a third DUI, and is knowledgeable about Pennsylvania’s DUI laws.  Contact the Skinner Law Firm at (610) 436-1410 today for a consultation about your alleged offense.


Penalties for a Third Offense DUI in Pennsylvania

A driver charged with a third or subsequent DUI involving a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% to .099% faces a misdemeanor of the second degree if convicted. Under Pennsylvania law, the mandatory minimum sentence is:

  • At least 10 days in jail (although the court could sentence up to 2 years in prison)
  • Payment of fines between $500 and $5,000;
  • Successful completion of the alcohol highway safety school;
  • Completion of any court-ordered alcohol or drug abuse treatment, if ordered;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 12 months; and
  • 12 months license suspension

A driver charged with a third DUI having a BAC of .10% to .159% faces a misdemeanor of the first degree if convicted. Under Pennsylvania law, the mandatory minimum sentence is:

  • At least 90 days in jail (although a court could sentence up to 5 years in prison);
  • Payment of  a fine between $1,500 and $10,000;
  • Successful completion of an alcohol highway safety school;
  • Completion of alcohol or drug abuse treatment, if ordered;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 12 months; and
  • 18 month license suspension

A driver charged with a third or subsequent DUI involving a BAC of .16% and higher faces a misdemeanor of the first degree. Under Pennsylvania law, the mandatory minimum sentence is:

  • At least 1 year in prison (although a court could sentence up to 5 years in prison);
  • Payment of a fine between $2,500 to $10,000;
  • Successful completion of an alcohol highway safety school;
  • Completion of alcohol or drug abuse treatment; if ordered;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 12 months; and
  • 18 months license suspension

Back to top

Penalties for a Fourth DUI in Chester County or Delaware County

A fourth or subsequent DUI involving a BAC of .10 to .159%, or higher, is also considered a misdemeanor of the first degree. Under Pennsylvania law, if the driver is convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI for these BAC ranges, the mandatory minimum sentence is at least 1 year in prison, although a court would likely sentence an offender to more time based on priors. The fines also range up to $10,000, and a defendant will also be required to complete other mandatory conditions such as safety school, drug and alcohol treatment, license suspension and installation of an ignition interlock. A 4th or subsequent offense DUI is a very serious charge, and it is best to consult an attorney as soon as possible.


Back to top

Confidently Defending Clients Against 4th Offense DUI Charges in Chester and Delaware County

Contact the Skinner Law Firm today for a consultation about your DUI offense in Chester County, Delaware County or Montgomery County. Defense attorney Michael J. Skinner will listen to the facts of your particular situation and help you identify any possible defenses or mitigating circumstances that may reduce or dismiss the charges. Contact the Skinner Law Firm at (610) 436-1410 for a consultation about your third driving under the influence offense in Pennsylvania.

Michael Skinner
LATEST NEWS
  • Cosby to Face Aggravated Indecent Assault Charges in Pennsylvania
    0
    By Michael Skinner

    Cosby to Face A...

    May 22, 2017 marked the next phase in the highly publicized criminal trial of Bill Cosby, as prosecutors and defense attorneys began the jury selection process in Pittsburgh, PA. CBS Philly reports that the famous comedian is facing charges on three felony counts of aggravated indecent assault, which allegedly occurred during a 2004 encounter with a […]
    Read More
Michael Skinner
Michael Skinner
Michael Skinner
Michael Skinner
  • 0
    By Michael Skinner

    Cosby to Face A...

    May 22, 2017 marked the next phase in the highly publicized criminal trial of Bill Cosby, as prosecutors and defense attorneys began the jury selection process in Pittsburgh, PA. CBS
    Read More
  • 0
    By Michael Skinner

    Drunk Driver Cr...

    A story that may seem humorous to some actually sheds light on a very serious matter under Pennsylvania law: Drunk driving. According to Philadelphia’s NBC 10 News, a man was
    Read More
  • 0
    By Michael Skinner

    Philadelphia Ar...

    A councilman from Lansdowne is facing severe penalties after his third conviction for DUI in the last 10 years, according to a recent article in the Delaware County Daily
    Read More
  • 0
    By Michael Skinner

    Drug Possession...

    You may be aware that if you’re found with certain controlled substances on your person, you can be charged with drug possession under Pennsylvania law. However, under certain circumstances, the
    Read More
Proud Members of
A wide array of legal organizations A wide array of legal organizations

ARE YOU HAVING PROBLEMS

AND NEED TO SPEAK WITH AN ATTORNEY?

need help?