Keeping Your License after a DUI Arrest
A DUI conviction can lead to fines, time in jail, and other penalties. But perhaps one of the most inconvenient penalties is the loss of your driver’s license. In some cases, you can face a license suspension without even being convicted. To limit the effects of a license suspension, you should reach out to a qualified Pennsylvania DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.
When Can You Lose Your License?
Pennsylvania is not one of those states that automatically takes your license away if you are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence. In fact, you may not even lose your license if you are a first-time offender and your blood alcohol content (BAC) measured less than 0.10 percent. However, you may face a driver’s license suspension under the following circumstances:
- Your BAC was over 0.10
- You have prior DUI convictions on your record
- You refused to submit a breath or blood sample
The length of a suspension will depend on how high your BAC was and how many DUI convictions you have had in the past, however, a suspension is often for 12 or 18 months. This means you can face difficulties getting to work, transporting your children, taking trips, and much more for a year or longer. If you get caught driving while your license is suspended, you can face additional charges with harsh penalties.
Finding Relief from a License Suspension
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) does not allow you to request an administrative hearing to directly challenge your license suspension. However, an experienced DUI defense lawyer can help you do the following:
- Apply for a restricted license to drive to work, school, or other important obligations
- Request a hearing to appeal a denial of a restricted license
- Request credit or limited driving privileges if you have an ignition interlock installed on your vehicle
- Request credit for time already served on your license suspension
Having qualified defense counsel can help you present the best case in your favor to PennDOT to increase your chances of regaining driving privileges as soon as possible.
If you lost your license because you refused a chemical test, a DUI defense lawyer can help you challenge that suspension by filing a civil appeal. You only have 30 days to do this, however, so you should contact a lawyer as soon as you can after a DUI arrest. A skilled defense lawyer will know how to argue against PennDOT’s case that your license should be suspended in any way possible.
Contact a DUI Defense Attorney Today
People need their licenses to get to work, buy groceries, and transport their families. At the Skinner Law Firm, we understand how important your driving privileges are, so we work diligently to put on the best case possible at your administrative license suspension hearing. We will also handle every aspect of your DUI defense. Call us today at 610-436-1410 for a free consultation, or reach out by completing an online contact form. Don’t delay.