Few activities strike fear into a parent’s heart quite like teenagers partying unsupervised. Unfortunately, this concern is warranted.
Many parties do involve underage drinking, and parties do get broken up by police. In such cases, parents might wonder if their child can be charged with underage drinking just for being present at the party.
The answer is yes, depending on the circumstances. Even if a minor was not actively drinking when a party is broken up, they may still face criminal charges under Pennsylvania law.
If your child is arrested or facing underage drinking charges, it is best to protect their record from the start. In Chester County, PA, contact Skinner Law Firm for a free, initial consultation. Call (610) 436-1410 or contact us online.
In Pennsylvania, as in most states, it is illegal for a minor under the age of 21 to purchase, consume, possess, or transport alcohol. Offenses are typically punishable by fines ranging from $500 to $1,000 and by the suspension of driving privileges. Jail time is also possible.
It may seem illogical that a minor could be charged with underage drinking despite not consuming alcohol. However, there are some circumstances that can make it very easy for police to charge even sober minors with alcohol offenses.
The easiest way to avoid being charged with underage drinking is to avoid parties where it occurs. However, teenagers will not always comply with this advice. Therefore, it’s important to teach them to protect themselves if the police break up a party.
If your child is suspected of underage drinking at a party, you should immediately contact a qualified defense attorney. The attorneys at Skinner Law Firm can help both juveniles and underage adults facing drinking charges. Contact us online or call us at (610) 436-1410 to schedule a free consultation, and find out how we can defend your child and minimize any impact on their future.
By Michael Skinner |
15 Nov, 2020