Few crimes are punished as severely in Pennsylvania as sex offenses. Under the law, forcing or threatening someone to engage in an unwanted sex act can mean expensive fines, long prison sentences, potential property loss, and perhaps most notably, those convicted of some sex crimes must comply with Pennsylvania Sex Offender Registration.
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime in Chester County or the surrounding regions, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney. At the Skinner Law Firm, we think you deserve a chance to defend yourself and we will fight to protect your rights. As a Former prosecutor and highly experienced defense attorney, Michael J. Skinner knows how sex crime cases are handled, and has a long track record of success in cases ranging from rape, child pornography, and failure to register offenses.
For questions about the defenses that might apply to your situation, contact us today at (610) 436-1410 to schedule free and confidential consultation.
Several sex crimes in Pennsylvania require Sex Offender Registration. These crimes range from rape to sexual assault and include offenses involving minors. Sex crimes that cross state lines may also result in federal prosecution and would require registration as well.
Pennsylvania sex offender registration applies to:
Registration applies to any resident, student, or employee in Pennsylvania who has been convicted of an equivalent offense in any other state or a federal court. For example, if convicted of rape in Ohio but you move to Pennsylvania, you must register as a sex offender in your state of residence.
State and local police and the state board of probation administer Pennsylvania Sex Offender Registration. You’ll be asked to provide a broad range of identifying information including notable physical characteristics such as scars or tattoos, along with all your personal information from birthdate and social security number to race and gender.
If you are required to register, you have 10 days from the time you’re released from incarceration, a mental hospital, or when you start probation to provide the necessary information to your local police department. You must provide and update your information as required by the “tier” of your offense.
The number of years you must register depends on the sex crime for which you were convicted. For certain offenses lifetime registration may be required. Sexually violent predators must register for life and are required to notify state police within three days of any changes to their personal information.
Failing to comply with the Pennsylvania Sex Offender Registration can result in additional criminal charges and very serious consequences. For those required to report for 10 years, failure to do so can be punishable with up to seven years in prison, a fine of up to $15,000, and a requirement for lifetime registration. If you are under a lifetime registration mandate and fail to do so, you face life in prison and a $50,000 fine.
The laws governing sex crimes are complex and the effects of conviction and sex offender registration are long-lasting – often permanent. We are experienced in defending against sex crime allegations and failure to register offenses throughout Southeastern Pennsylvania. If you’ve been charged with a sex-related offense in or around Chester County, do not delay in seeking counsel. Avoiding a conviction and the resulting consequences should be your top priority. If you’ve already been convicted and need help with a registration issue, we can also help.
By Michael Skinner |
18 May, 2020
By Michael Skinner |
26 Apr, 2020