West Chester

Indecent Assault Lawyer

Any sexual motivated criminal charge, no matter the severity, will inevitably come with harsh social, professional and financial repercussions if convicted. Not only will you risk going to jail and being forced to pay hefty fines, but there is also a possibility that you will have to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life.

If you are currently under investigation for any accusation of indecent assault in the southeastern Pennsylvania counties of Chester, Lancaster, Montgomery or Delaware, then take the necessary action and contact Michael J. Skinner of the Skinner Law Firm to discuss representation.

As a dedicated and aggressive sex crime defense attorney, Michael will make sure to handle every aspect of your case and fight to guarantee that your individual rights are protected. Call Skinner Law Firm at (610) 436-1410or send an online message to schedule a risk-free and confidential consultation to discuss the details of your case.

Indecent Assault in Pennsylvania

Pa. Cons. Stat. §3126 states that a person who has indecent contact with the complainant or causes the complainant to have indecent contact with the person is guilty of indecent assault if:

  • The person does so without the complainant’s consent, by forcible compulsion, or by threat of forcible;
  • The complainant is unconscious or the person knows that the complainant is unaware that the indecent contact is occurring;
  • The person has substantially impaired the complainant’s power to appraise or control his  or  her  conduct  by  administering  or  employing,  without  the  knowledge  of  the complainant, drugs, intoxicants or other means for the purpose of preventing resistance;
  • The complainant suffers from a mental disability which renders him or her incapable of consent;
  • The complainant is less than 13 years of age; or
  • The complainant is less than 16 years of age and the person is four or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and the person are not married to each other

If the victim of indecent assault is less than 13 years or age, it is considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 5 years in prison and/or fines of up to $10,000.

All other indecent assault charges are considered a misdemeanor of the second degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to two years in prison and/or fines of up to $5,000.

Aggravated Indecent Assault Charges

Pa. Cons. Stat. §3125 states that Aggravated indecent assault may be charged if the defendant engages in penetration, however slight, of the genitals or anus of a complainant with a part of the person’s body for any purpose other than good faith medical, hygienic or law enforcement procedures.

An aggravated indecent assault is considered a felony of the second degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to ten years in jail and/or up to $25,000 in fines.

If the aggravated indecent assault was committed on an individual under the age of 13, the charge will be a felony of the first degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 20 years in prison and / or up to $25,000 in fines.

An Indecent Assault Lawyer In Chester County

Due to the serious nature of a charge for indecent assault, it is of paramount importance that you protect yourself from unfair treatment or avoidable problems by working with a qualified attorney for the very start of this process.

Contact the Skinner Law Firm today for a consultation about your indecent assault offense in Southeastern Pennsylvania. Michael J. Skinner, a knowledgeable defense attorney will make every effort to fight the allegations against you and help you avoid the most serious punishments for your alleged offense.

Contact us today at (610) 436-1410 to set up a free consultation if you were charged in West Chester.

COVID-19 Notice: Our firm is open and available to help. We are all being impacted in different ways, but we will all get through this together.Learn More
+